__________________________________________________________________________

Winner of the Pulitzer Prize for General Nonfiction

Winner of the Helen Bernstein Book Award for Excellence in Journalism 

 

“A new classic of science reporting” — The New York Times

 

TOMS RIVER

A STORY OF SCIENCE AND SALVATION

 

“A gripping environmental thriller” — Kirkus Reviews (starred)

“A crisp, hard-nosed probe into corporate arrogance and the power of public resistance” – Publishers Weekly

“This hard-hitting account of cancer epidemiology in the New Jersey town of Toms River is a triumph” — Nature 

“A complex tale of powerful industry, local politics, water rights, epidemiology, public health and cancer in a gripping, page-turning environmental thriller” — National Public Radio

The story of a small town ravaged by industrial pollution, Toms River melds hard-hitting investigative reporting, a fascinating scientific detective story, deep historical research and an unforgettable cast of characters into a sweeping narrative in the tradition of A Civil Action, The Emperor of All Maladies, and The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks.

MORE ACCLAIM FOR TOMS RIVER

Read the New York Times review.

Read an excerpt from the book on Longreads.

Watch and listen to Dan’s recent talks and media appearances, and see a schedule of upcoming appearances.

NEWS AND RECENT ARTICLES

June 18, 2014: MetroFocus

Jack Ford interviews Dan about Toms River for WNET’s MetroFocus program.

June 3, 2014: NYU Stories

Dan talks about Toms River, tweeting, and “this Pulitzer thing”.

May 28, 2014

The New York Public Library gives Dan its Helen Bernstein Book Award for Excellence in Journalism, calling Toms River “powerful, in-depth reporting that informs the public, shapes policy, and changes the world.” The ceremony was also broadcast on C-SPAN’s Book TV.

May 27, 2014: C-SPAN

Dan and the other finalists for the Bernstein Award talk about the challenges nonfiction book authors face in a digital world. C-SPAN broadcast the discussion at the New York Public Library.

May 21, 2014: China Dialogue

An interview with Dan published in China Dialogue, which also reviewed Toms River.