__________________________________________________________________________

Winner of the Pulitzer Prize for General Nonfiction

Winner of the Helen Bernstein Book Award for Excellence in Journalism

Winner of the National Academies Science Book Award

Winner of the SEJ Rachel Carson Environment Book Award 

Winner of the Books for a Better Life Green Book of the Year Award

 

“A new classic of science reporting” — The New York Times

 

TOMS RIVER

A STORY OF SCIENCE AND SALVATION

 

“A gripping environmental thriller” — Kirkus Reviews (starred)

“A crisp, hard-nosed probe into corporate arrogance and the power of public resistance” – Publishers Weekly

“This hard-hitting account of cancer epidemiology in the New Jersey town of Toms River is a triumph” — Nature 

“A complex tale of powerful industry, local politics, water rights, epidemiology, public health and cancer in a gripping, page-turning environmental thriller” — National Public Radio

The story of a small town ravaged by industrial pollution, Toms River melds hard-hitting investigative reporting, a fascinating scientific detective story, deep historical research and an unforgettable cast of characters into a sweeping narrative in the tradition of A Civil Action, The Emperor of All Maladies, and The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks.

MORE ACCLAIM FOR TOMS RIVER

Read the New York Times review.

Read an excerpt from the book on Longreads.

Watch and listen to Dan’s recent talks and media appearances, and see a schedule of upcoming appearances.

NEWS AND RECENT ARTICLES

Sept. 9. 2014: National Academy of Sciences

Toms River was recognized by the National Academy of Science, National Academy of Engineering and Institute of Medicine “for its masterful portrayal of the scientific process at work in a town facing environmental crisis”.

August 1, 2014

The judges called Toms River a “masterpiece” that “embodies Carson’s legacy of deeply insightful, science-based literary prose.” The award is administered by the Society of Environmental Journalists.

July 28, 2014: Global People

An article about Toms River in the weekend magazine of People’s Daily, one of the largest newspapers in China.

June 18, 2014: MetroFocus

Jack Ford interviews Dan about Toms River for WNET’s MetroFocus program.

June 3, 2014: NYU Stories

Dan talks about Toms River, tweeting, and “this Pulitzer thing”.